University of Hyderabad, Telangana, Schools and Departments

The University of Hyderabad was established in 1974 in Hyderabad, Telangana. The University is ranked the highest score A+++++ by NAAC and it is ranked the 4th Best Institution in India by NIRF. The University also received the Visitor\’s Award for the Best Central University in India in January 2015, awarded by the President of India.

The University of Hyderabad consists of 12 Schools and 42 Departments.

  1. School of Mathematics & Statistics
  2. School of Chemistry
  3. School of Computer and Information Sciences
  4. School of Humanities
  • Department of English
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Telugu
  • Department of Urdu
  • Department of Sanskrit Studies
  1. School of Management Studies
  2. Sarojini Naidu School of Arts & Communication
  • Department of Communication
  • Department of Dance
  • Department of Fine Arts
  • Department of Theatre Arts
  • Department of Music
  1. School of Physics
  2. School of Life Sciences
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Plant Sciences
  • Department of Animal Biology
  • Department of Biotechnology & Bioinformatics
  • Department of Systems & Computational Biology
  1. School of Social Sciences
  • Department of History
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Department of Education & Education Technology
  1. School of Engineering Sciences & Technology
  2. School of Economics
  3. School of Medical Sciences

The University of Hyderabad provides the following courses at the Postgraduate level:

Eligible for candidates having a Bachelor’s degree in the relevant stream.

  • M.Sc. (13 Courses)
  • M.A. (15 Courses)
  • M.C.A.
  • M.B.A. (5 Courses)
  • M.Tech. (8 Courses)
  • M.P.A. (3 Courses)
  • M.F.A. (4 Courses)
  • M.F.H.
  • Advanced PG Diploma (3 Courses)

Eligible for candidates having passed 10+2 or any equivalent in the relevant stream.

  • Integrated M.Sc. (7 Courses)
  • Integrated M.A. (9 Courses)
  • Integrated M.Tech. 

Eligible for candidates having a Master’s degree in the relevant stream.

  • M.Phil. (15 Courses)
  • Ph.D. (40 Courses)

The University of Hyderabad provides the following courses in Distance Mode:

Eligible for candidates having a Bachelor’s degree in the relevant stream.

  • Diploma (14 Courses)
  • Certificate Programme in Critical Care

Eligible for candidates having a Master’s degree in the relevant stream.

  • Advanced Certificate Course on Assisted Reproductive Technologies

The university is located on a sprawling expanse of 2300-odd acres and is rich in flora and fauna serving as a home to various plants and animals.

The Research & Development section facilitates researchers of the University and is responsible for interacting with various stakeholders. It also partners with all the funding agencies and R&D organizations at the national and international levels.

The University provides scholarships to economically backward and deserving candidates. The eligibility depends on family income, graduation marks, place of permanent residence and other criteria.

The University facilitates the students with a library to support teaching and research activities. It is connected to WiFi and comprises a reading room. The library serves as a resources centre to all scholars and consists of monographs, textbooks, back volumes of journals, theses/dissertations, CDs/DVDs, etc., which is up to four lakhs in number. It also subscribes to around 500 journals in various streams and provides access to over 25,000 e-resources.

The University of Hyderabad is composed of 23 hostels distributed across the campus that is capable of accommodating over 5000 male and female students where nine hostels provide dining facilities. Students from faraway places are given priority and not provided to students residing in Hyderabad-Secunderabad. The campus is equipped with three Guest Houses and a Dining facility is provided at the guesthouses. The guest houses are equipped with air-conditioners, wifi and generator facilities.

The campus consists of other amenities such as a shopping complex, food courts that provide breakfast, lunch and dinner facilities, Post Office, Computer Centre and ATM’s. The Health Centre provides primary health care and emergency medical services. Health Insurance is compulsory for all the students in the University.

The University of Hyderabad has sports, games and yoga facilities for the students. It has a sports complex which includes a cricket pavilion, standard running tack, Kho-kho facility, Volleyball court, Karate dojo, an indoor stadium for badminton courts, fitness centre, an indoor sports hall for Table tennis, caroms and chess and more. Regular yoga classes take place in the yoga centre. All these facilities are offered free of cost to the university community.

The University also houses a Central Instruments laboratory to cater to the needs of the faculty and research scholars in the University. It consists of equipment in the field of Scanning Electron Microscopy, Spectroscopy, Confocal Microscopy, Vibrating Magnetometer and Spin Resonance studies.

The University of Hyderabad is equipped with a placement cell and representatives from each Departments coordinate internship and job opportunities for students. The Placement cell organizes sessions conducted by industry experts. Some notable recruiters include Delloite, Synchroni, Bridgi2i, Core Compete, TCS and so on. Companies usually conduct Aptitude Tests, Group discussions and Versant tests and personal interviews of the candidates before recruiting. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *